Log in


2023 Annual Chapter Meeting

When: Friday, September 8, 2023

Location: The Brown Hotel            

             335 W Broadway, Louisville, KY 40202

In accordance with the ACCME Accreditation Criteria, the American College of Surgeons must ensure that anyone in a position to control the content of the educational activity (planners and speakers/authors/discussants/moderators) has disclosed all financial relationships with any ineligible company held in the last 24 months. Please note that first authors were required to collect and submit disclosure information on behalf all other authors/contributors, if applicable.


This activity is designed for physicians.   Upon completion of this course participants will be able to:

Identify, analyze and manage issues as a new surgeon.
Analyze and discuss updates in pediatric trauma, advocacy, and national strategic goals of the American College of Surgeons.
Discuss and identify issues around environment influences in Kentucky colorectal cancer rates.
Apply knowledge of the ACS Quality program and how it can be utilized.

7:00 AM - 8:00 AM
Executive Council Meeting
Objective: List key initiatives of the ACS at the national level. Correlate national ACS goals with Kentucky Chapter opportunities.

8:00 AM - Welcome and Overview
Chapter President, Alexandra Maki, MD, FACS, Louisville

8:00 AM - 8:45 AM

"The Intersection of Pediatric Trauma, Advocacy, and National Strategic Goals"

Mary Fallat, MD, FACS

Vice President of the American College of Surgeons
University of Louisville


8:45 AM-9:15 AM

"Healthcare advocacy in Kentucky-How I became involved"
State Senator Karen Berg, MD, Disctrict 26, Louisville Kentucky

9:15 AM - 10:15 AM
Panel Session: "What I learned during my first years as a surgeon"
Moderator: Michael Egger, MD, University of Lousiville
Panel members: Alexis Nickols, MD, University of Kentucky, Timothy Dawson, MD, New Albany, IN, Amy Wise, MD, Louisville, Lindsay Arnold, MD, Louisville

10:15 AM- 10:30 AM Break

10:30 AM - 11:00 AM
ACS Quality Program
Michael Egger, MD, FACS
University of Louisville

11:00 AM - 11:15 AM
ACS Foundation
Danny R. Robinette, MD, FACS

11:15 AM - 11:30 AM
Kentucky Trauma Care Update
Andrew Bernard, MD, FACS

11:30 AM - 12:00 PM
"Environmental influence of colorectal cancer rates in Kentucky"
Sandra Kavalukas, MD, Louisville, KY and fellow     

12:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Lunch - Visit with Commerical Supporters - Poster Presentations

1:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Cancer Liasion Report
Alan Mullins, MD, FACS

Chapter Business Meeting and report on the 2023 Leadership Conference and ACS Advocacy Summit

Alexandra Maki, MD, FACS, President Kentucky Chapter of the American College of Surgeons

1:30 PM - 4:00 PM Resident Paper Competition and "Interesting Cases"

Anna Reagan, MD, Evolving Surgical Technique for Patients with Gastric Gastrointestinal Stromal Tumors

Chinweotuto Vee Uma, MD, Trends in Duodenal Injury Severity, Repair and Mortality Over Time

Chinweotuto Vee Uma, MD, Cost Analysis of Operative Management of Traumatic Hemothorax

Elive Likine, MD,
Does Intraoperative Fluid Pooling at the End of Drapes during Lower Extremity Trauma Lead to the Introduction of Novel Bacteria to the Surgical Field?

Hannah McDonald, MD,
Early Results of a Randomized Phase II Trial Comparing Flat vs Weight based Mitomycin C In Patients Undergoing Cytoreductive Surgery and Heated Intraperitoneal Chemotherapy for Advanced Colon and Appendix Neoplasms

Kyle Stephens, MD,
SEER Review of Melanoma Deaths by Thickness: Most Melanoma Deaths Not Attributable to Thin Melanomas

Nicholas Caminiti, MD,
Same-day Mastectomy: Factors Predicting Overnight Admission and Associated Financial Implications      

4:00 PM
Announce Award Winners, Pass the Gavel and Adjournment

4:00 PM - 6:00PM

Happy Hour


Alexandra Maki, MD, FACS

Murielle Brohez, MD, FACS

Michael Egger, MD, FACS

Administrative Director
Linda Silvestri  

Committee on Cancer Chairman
Alan Mullins, MD, FACS   

Committee on Trauma Chairman
Andrew Bernard, MD, FACS


Emily Marcinkowski, MD, FACS

Melissa Newcomb, MD, FACS

Joseph Kim, MD, FACS

Malay Shah, MD, FACS

Alexander Hou, MD, FACS

Dan Davis, MD, FACS
Bowling Green

Nate Liu, MD, FACS

Duane Densler, MD, FACS

Young Fellows Representative

Jessica Reynolds, MD, FACSz

Associate Fellows Representative

Tiffany Wright, MD


Cindy Downard, MD, FACS

Malay Shah, MD, FACS,

Oral Presentations:

Nicholas Caminiti
Elive Likine
Anna Reagan
Chnweotuto Vee Uma
Hannah McDonald
Kyle Stephens

Poster Presentations:

Lindsay Bryant
Anthony Filson
Spencer Thompson
Nicholas Demas
Matthew Bernard
Joshua Griffith
Jaewon Kang

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software